SEPA Announces Winners of 2017 SEPA Power Players Awards | SEPA Skip to content

SEPA Announces Winners of 2017 SEPA Power Players Awards

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Smart Electric Power Alliance (SEPA) has announced the winners of its 2017 SEPA Power Player Awards. Winners will be honored July 26 as part of SEPA’s Grid Evolution Summit: A National Town Meeting in Washington, DC.

Now in their ninth year, the awards recognize utilities, their industry partners, individuals and other stakeholders on the front lines of energy transformation in the United States. In particular, the SEPA Power Players awards focus on projects, initiatives and thought leadership that promote collaborative, innovative and replicable models for change that significantly advance knowledge of or access to distributed energy resources that benefit electricity consumers and the grid.

Chosen by an independent panel of seven judges with diverse experiences in the electric power industry, the 2017 SEPA Power Players are:

  • Gil C. Quiniones, President and CEO of New York Power Authority, named Power Player of the Year
  • Ouachita Electric Cooperative Corporation named Electric Cooperative Utility of the Year
  • CPS Energy named Public Power Utility of the Year
  • PSE&G named Investor-Owned Utility of the Year
  • Stem named Innovative Partner of the Year
  • Kansas City Power & Light, Nest and CLEAResult jointly named Change Agents of the Year
  • Sustainable CUNY named Visionary of the Year

“Our 2017 SEPA Power Players all have fresh, exciting stories to tell about the potential for innovative projects and programs when utilities, partners and stakeholders work together on solutions needed to bring distributed energy technologies to consumers and the grid,” said Julia Hamm, SEPA President and CEO. “This year’s winners provide ample evidence of the transformation in institutional culture and operational style taking root across our industry, driving change to the energy system that ultimately benefits all.”

Brief profiles of the winners can be found here. Interviews with winners can also be arranged.

Media contact:
K Kaufmann
[email protected]