Skip to content

SEPA President and CEO Julia Hamm Named Co-Chair of PREPA Transformation Advisory Council

Smart Electric Power Alliance CEO and President Julia Hamm (Source: SEPA)

SAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO — Julia Hamm, President and CEO of the Smart Electric Power Alliance (SEPA) has released the following statement on the new appointments to the Board of Directors of the Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority (PREPA). In the wake of the announcements, Hamm was named co-chair, with Cris Eugster, of PREPA’s Transformation Advisory Council (TAC).

“Puerto Rico’s recovery and transition to a clean, modern and resilient energy system continues to gather momentum with Gov. Rosselló’s announcement today of new appointments to the Board of Directors of the Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority. I congratulate David Owens, Charles Bayless and Robert Poe, who will bring dynamic new leadership and extensive utility industry expertise to the ongoing evolution of the power sector in Puerto Rico.

“As David Owens transitions to the Board of Directors from the Transformation Advisory Council (TAC), I am honored to have been asked to take on his previous role of TAC co-chair alongside Cris Eugster. Cris and I remain committed to working with PREPA and all stakeholders to fulfill our collective vision of providing Puerto Rico with a power system wholly focused on customers and their need for safe, reliable and resilient electricity. The island’s power system must be financially viable, and provide an economic engine for its people, and a model of sustainability for the world.”

Media contact: K Kaufmann, or 202.494.4386