Priority Testing and Certification Needs for Smart Grid Interoperability

Priority Testing and Certification Needs for Smart Grid Interoperability

  • Testing needs that require priority attention in supporting interoperability of smart grid systems and devices
  • Utility views on gaps in available test programs
  • Utility survey results

Surveying utilities on smart grid interoperability testing need priorities

Over 100 standards have been identified by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) as supporting smart grid implementation. Interoperability testing programs provide verification that the standards have been implemented appropriately and consistently. Testing and certification are receiving increased focus as industry reaches consensus on the underlying standards for the smart grid.

This report provides a summary of the findings from a 2013 survey of utilities to better understand their views on available industry test programs, gaps in existing programs, and areas where the development of new test programs could provide value in their product assessment, selection, and deployment activities.

What’s in the report

  • High-level list of priority testing/certification topical areas and associated standards
  • Detailed responses on identified priorities, including rationales
  • Participant input on their internal testing practices and requirements
  • Domain-specific testing interests
  • Standard-specific testing viewpoints

Fill out this form to get the report.