SEPA Power Players Awards FAQs

What do you look for in a nomination?

Your entry must fit within the criteria of innovation, collaboration, and replicability as related to:

  • Expanding the grid integration of clean energy, distributed energy resources and/or furthering grid modernization efforts
  • Working to make the smart grid more reliable, resilient and clean
  • Innovative, replicable projects 

This can be in the form of nuts-and-bolts projects, thought leadership or strategic implementation.

What is the eligibility period?

April 1, 2020 – March 31, 2021.

What is the deadline to submit nominations?

SEPA will no longer accept nominations after Friday, July 22

Do I have to be a member of the Smart Electric Power Alliance (SEPA) to receive an award?

Not at all. SEPA encourages all utilities and industry partners to apply and showcase their energy industry transforming work.

When will the winners be notified?

SEPA will announce three finalists for each award category in mid-July. Winners will be recognized at the virtual SEPA Grid Evolution Summit, July 26-28.

How will the winners be recognized?

Winners will be recognized at the virtual SEPA Grid Evolution Summit, July 26-28.

Can previous award winners submit again?

We encourage previous winners to submit nominations for other award categories as applicable.

What about programs or products that haven’t been launched yet? Do they qualify?

The majority of the project planning must have been completed during the eligibility period, April 2020 – April 2021.

Can we nominate ourselves?

Absolutely! We encourage it and hope you do.

Is there a suggested word count for responses?

There is no word count, other than the 50 word limit as listed in the final short answer. Typical applications average 1 long paragraph per response, but you are welcome to submit whatever you’d like!