SEPA Announces 2020 Power Players Award Winners | SEPA Skip to content

SEPA Announces 2020 Power Players Award Winners

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, the Smart Electric Power Alliance (SEPA) announced the winners of the 2020 SEPA Power Players Awards in recognition of their groundbreaking efforts in project or program design, unique partnerships, stakeholder engagement, and more. Winners in eight award categories will be recognized during the 2020 SEPA virtual Grid Evolution Summit on July 28-30.

Now in their twelfth year, the awards recognize utilities, their industry partners, individuals and other stakeholders working on the front lines of the U.S. energy transition. In particular, the SEPA Power Players Awards focus on projects, initiatives and thought leadership that promote collaborative, innovative and replicable models for change. These industry leaders significantly advance knowledge of or access to clean energy with solutions that benefit electricity consumers and the grid.

The 2020 SEPA Power Players are:

  • Individual Power Player of the Year: Jeff Guldner, CEO, Pinnacle West Corporation
  • Electric Cooperative Utility of the Year: Holy Cross Energy
  • Public Power Utility of the Year: Alectra Utilities
  • Investor-Owned Utility of the Year: San Diego Gas & Electric
  • Utility Business Models Power Player of the Year: Southern Company
  • Regulatory Innovation Power Player of the Year: Hawaii Public Utilities Commission
  • Grid Integration Power Player of the Year: Heron’s Nest Microgrid
  • Transportation Electrification Power Player of the Year: Dr. Karim Farhat, Engie Impact

“This year’s Power Players winners showcase innovation in clean energy,” said SEPA President & CEO Julia Hamm. “They are spearheading the visionary projects, innovative programs, and collaborative partnerships that will accelerate the transition to a clean and modern energy future. As our industry grapples with unprecedented challenges brought by the COVID-19 pandemic, this leadership is more necessary now than ever.”

This year’s winners were selected from a record-breaking competitive field of over 100 nominees and recently announced finalists.

Brief profiles of the winners can be found here. Videos of all 8 winners are available here. To arrange an interview with one or more winners, contact:

Jordan Nachbar
Communications Manager
[email protected]